Baby Plans and Matthew 7:1 – 3

It’s been a very long time since I posted on this blog. Maybe the reason is that I’ve been busy. Maybe I haven’t thought of anything brilliant enough to post. Or perhaps, I completely forgot I had a blog – yep, that’s it! Now that we’re having a baby, a lot of questions and concerns pop into my head. It’s pretty overwhelming when I sit down and think about all of the details! We’re learning to try to surround ourselves with positive people who are supportive of us in this journey.

Ever since my husband and I became vegetarians over three years ago, we’ve come across our share of skeptics. Most people seem to think it’s “extreme.” I was never really bothered by people’s opinions. After cutting out meat, we also started cutting out processed food and choosing products without harsh chemicals for cleaning our house and for toiletries.

Once we started thinking about starting a family, I happened to watch the documentary “The Business of Being Born.” Since we had shifted to a more “natural” lifestyle, it made sense to pursue a natural birth as well (when the time came). After moving to Hutchinson and finding that a Birth Center was close by, I was so excited!

I began visiting the Birth Center for women’s check-ups (another service they offer). It was a much more welcoming environment than any doctor’s office I’ve been to. Getting a tour of the birthing rooms made me tear up a little! I knew this was the place where I wanted to have my babies.

Last summer, we decided we were ready to start a family, and by the 4th of July, we found out we were pregnant! Right now, I’m 17 weeks along, and we get to see if the baby is a boy or girl in just 3 weeks!

Sharing the news was bittersweet. 99% of the people we shared our baby news with were extremely excited for us and supportive of our choices. One person, however, mocked us when we announced we were going to have the baby at a birth center. He said “Why don’t you just go out in the field with the Indians and wait for the baby to FALL OUT?!” It’s sad that this one rude opinion upset me so much. Maybe it’s because it came from the baby’s own grandfather. Maybe it’s because I worry to much about other people’s opinions. I could say I’m over it now, but it still stings a little.

Remember what I said about surrounding ourselves with positive support? I’m hoping to do that through this blog (as well as family and friends, of course). So, let’s stop judging each other for our choices. I have nothing against a mom who wants to have a baby at a hospital. I do not judge a woman who wants to have their baby at home. Epidural or no epidural, pitocin or not, who am I to judge? We make our own choices on what we think is best. And despite our best laid plans, it may NOT go the way we planned either.

The end result will be a baby, no matter what. And when the baby is here, will there continue to be judgments? Cloth diapers or disposable? Breastfeeding or bottle-feeding? Co-sleeping, Bed sharing, or baby in his/her own room? We’re making these decisions now, and in the back of my head, I wonder who will verbally or silently judge me? I love and care about my baby just as much as anyone else. Shouldn’t that be the end of the discussion?

More updates will come soon, but until then, say something nice to a mom! They deserve it! And look up Matthew 7:1 – 3

– Amanda

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Beth Plank on October 3, 2014 at 9:00 pm

    Great entry… I love the first part of Ephesians 6 for parenting. God is very specific in how to parent… It is to be in the nurture and admonition of The Lord. It is to train up a child in the way he should go… Neither one of those referenced verses mention anything about meat/no meat, birth plans, feeding plans, spanking/no spanking, schedule vs. demand, schooling plans, etc. we have one command as parents to raise them up in The Lord. When others voice their opinion which at times will feel very loud and very unwanted remember what our end goal as parents is to be. You guys are going to be great parents, this is going to be one very loved little one and I’m so happy for you!

    Cousin Beth

    Reply

Leave a Reply

