Project Declutter Complete!

I know I haven’t blogged in a while, but I’ve been keeping up with the project! After 30 minutes (minimum) of decluttering per day, I didn’t always feel like spending another half hour blogging about it.

Today was the culmination of the project with our garage sale. Despite the unseasonably cold temperatures, we sold over half the items we set out. At 2 p.m., we set the leftovers on the curb, and by 4 p.m., it was ALL GONE! We were excited that we didn’t have to haul it all away.

The Declutter Like a Mother Challenge has taught me so much. I’ve made a vow to be much more conscious of what I bring into the house. I’ve decided not to do any browsing or window shopping for stuff (whether in person or online). I’ll only seek out things when I actually need them. And I’ll practice a one in, one out rule.

My mood is so much better without the clutter in my life. I’ve learned to appreciate what I have and remember that many others aren’t as fortunate.  Watching 4 sweet little girls squeal in excitement as they found treasures in the give away pile made this 3-week process so worth it! I’ve decided to start a permanent “donate” pile in the house, so I can place items that I no longer need and pass it on when I fill up a box.

Nicholas and Aladdin loved meeting new people today at the sale. Nicholas kept saying, “MORE PEOPLE!” as new customers arrived. Aladdin was the official greeter and met people at the curb. A lot of folks said he was a sweet and friendly boy and they wanted to take him home! I was able to have some nice conversations with some the friendliest people in the Midwest today. It made me realize once again that the relationships you have are exponentially more important than the tangible objects you own. Thanks for following my journey!

 

Leave a Reply

